top of page

MU Development


We were given a site located on Finedon Road, which is based in the South Eastern edge of Burton Latimer Village in Northamptonshire. Currently the sitw is used as a greenfield pasture land and has an overall area of 2.33 Hectares.

Firstly, I started off by identiying the contraints which I have highlighted on the drawing above. Along with these, there was another constaint which hasn't been identified which is that the site sits on a slope.

This was a concept sketched by the Architect from Taylor Wimpey, however one of the biggest problems was the positon of the road. As the position it sits in can only be used from the left side, which therefore means it isn't as effective.

Secondly, I started to play around with the position and layout of the road. From the two drawings I realised that the first masterplan layout would allow me to place more houses, which I started to develop more further.

I then started placing the houses on the site, I tried to keep them South facing as this would allow more sunlight into the buildings. I then started to develop this further, by alligning the houses so they fit into the site more precisely and it also ensured I wasn't wasting any space and made sure all houses had evenly sized gardens. It also allowed me to place more houses, in the end I managed to fit in 45 houses, all of which have their own garden and a garage or allocated parking space.

Overall, I really did enjoy this workshop alot as it provided me with a great understanding about master planning and how to solve problems which I might come across in the future. So I wanted to say a big thankyou to the Taylor Wimpey team for this experience!

For some reason my final image is not appearing very clear so if you would like a closer look please go to https://www.dropbox.com/s/u8nooin5usdks9b/Layout_Plan_01.jpg?dl=0. I am also hoping to attempt the other tasks, which I'll try and keep you updated on my personal blog http://muarchitectural.weebly.com/.


Other 
 Posts  
bottom of page